Feedback + footnotes on no-tripod look: Eve & Miki’s Living with Geeks clip

RE – tripod or not

I love the hand-held approach (vs tripod) esp in the video series. The look comes across more personal & participatory in interviews. So I experiment more with camera style in the vid series (vs with the core documentary content).

But!

I agree more with Phil, video creative & savvy DC Media Maker:
the movement distracts from this clip’s cool subjects.

Thoughts?

RE – As for the lighting

What do you think?

If memory serves, we talked mostly in the sun room late afternoon where additional lighting was unavailable (…memory is fading on this point!).

Loving the feedback (thanks and keep it comin’).

CLIP IN QUESTION:

7 responses to “Feedback + footnotes on no-tripod look: Eve & Miki’s Living with Geeks clip

  1. I liked the handheld camera and the way you moved the cam to wherever was appropriate at that moment. I like the intro.

    I didn’t get the still of the candle stick near the beginning. What did it have to do with this piece?

    I liked hearing your voice off camera with your reactions and questions.

  2. Jonny – thx – they are big medieval history buffs (those pics come from their wedding site, all done in a medieval theme, medieval ceremony). Frankly I was just addicted to those candles from their ceremony album!

  3. I don’t think it should be the first pic in the series. Confusing.

  4. You know Jonny when I first chose the 3 clips to make that intro suite, I was focused on introducing their medieval tastes – subtly without elaboration in this clip. But with your comment in mind, that candle as the first still distracts from introducing them, it over prioritizes it. Ah ha! I remixed those shots and it clarifies it more (-still addicted to leaving it in at this point). —grazi grazi.

  5. I like it too. I like the handheld as long as you are paying attention to it. i get carried away some times with my handheld shots, I’ve learned to love the tripod. my own shortcomings. I like the intro and outro too, sweet music.

  6. I know medieval history buffs so the candle made sense to me. Handheld back and forth between two speakers (for me it’s usually reporter/subject) can be tricky. There is a temptation to ping-pong back and forth every time one or the other speaks. If the other person starts to utter a sound then just says “oh yeah” or something short, now your on them and the other person is speaking. It’s tricky and I tend to wait a beat or two to see if the person is actually going to make panning to him/her wothwhile. Try to make your pans a little smoother. I find a wide angle adapter on the front of the camera helps dampen the motion. That would also help get a wider 2-shot when they’re both banging the light sabers together. A little lighting on them would’ve helped. You told a nice story with a nice open and close!

  7. Jim — thanks big time for the comments and tips! I like learning your camera vocabulary too.

Leave a Reply

